Jump to content

Global



Liberty Reserve - Scam Email


  • You cannot reply to this topic
3 replies to this topic

#1
cliper

cliper

    New Money Maker

  • Members
  • 56 posts
Hi,

I warned my fellow investors and those who use Liberty Reserve. Was a bit distracted with the following e-mail today (if it's not just me) that Liberty Reserve offered an investment program where it says 150% in 7 days. This is not true. Make sure the url above is not an ip address or other urls. Also, you can check your host file for possible changes in your ip tables. in linux you can see it in /etc/hosts in windows,
C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts

When I found out, the url was redirected to this ip: 82.146.51.161 and when I do DNS, I see an incomplete info:

Quote

Retrieving DNS records for robert12542.joinvps.com...
Attempt to get a DNS server for robert12542.joinvps.com failed: robert12542.joinvps.com does not exist in the DNS

For those who received this e-mail, please be warned and make sure it is really libertyreserve that you visited.

Good luck!

Cheers,
[url=http://goo.gl/1d70a][img]http://www.iccycle.com/images/468x60_2.gif[/img][/url]
[size=2][url=http://goo.gl/7014f]Elite Businessmen Private Investment Club[/url][/size] | [size=2][url=http://goo.gl/5Xtle]Invest in Resources Backed by rentals of construction materials[/url][/size] | [size=2][url=http://goo.gl/Hq3cc]Dynamic Partnership with great returns[/url][/size]

#2
Dennis

Dennis

    Administrator

  • Root Admin
  • 1,034 posts
cliper..who did that changes in your hosts file ?!?!? Looks like a virus/trojan behavior
LRExchange.com - Liberty Reserve Exchanges Directory
LRDirectory.com - Liberty Reserve Merchants Directory
LRHyip.com - Liberty Reserve Hyip Investments

#3
Andry

Andry

    Top Money Maker

  • Members
  • 588 posts
@cliper
be careful of similiar program like that because many times that was viruses or trojans. I won't open unknown email because tha can harm my computer.

#4
cliper

cliper

    New Money Maker

  • Members
  • 56 posts

View PostDennis, on 24 January 2011 - 11:15 AM, said:

cliper..who did that changes in your hosts file ?!?!? Looks like a virus/trojan behavior

I don't understand what you mean.. I showed how things might happen.. anyways, good luck..

View PostAndry, on 22 February 2011 - 07:49 PM, said:

@cliper
be careful of similiar program like that because many times that was viruses or trojans. I won't open unknown email because tha can harm my computer.

yah, but i guess it's not the phrase "be careful of similar program" because, We should not join to anything that says in that e-mail.. it was intended to phishing.. and sure it would just collect e-mail.. or much worst like you said.. viruses and trojans..

good luck!

Another mail from the scammer just this afternoon GMT+8 time:

Quote

from no_reply@libertyreserve.com <oskarferengi@gmail.com>
to
bcc cliper@boholcentral.com
date Sun, Mar 20, 2011 at 11:28 AM
subject Liberty Reserve - IMPORTANT
signed-by gmail.com
Important mainly because of the people in the conversation.
hide details 11:28 AM (39 minutes ago)
Dear Liberty Reserve Members,

Liberty Reserve has made considerable progress and improvement, it has become the leading e-currency and its services are being improved continuously.

Recently we have estabilished a very important relation with leading Forex traders from Costa Rica and we decided to give a special offer to you:

GET 150% RETURN IN 7 DAYS!

This opportunity will not last long, so you must react quickly.

Deposits are accepted until 21. March 2011. 00:00 (GMT), which means that you have about 24 hours to make a deposit in case you are interested in this offer.


One unit in this special program is worth 50 US dollars. The minimal deposit is 1 unit ($50), while the maximum deposit is 1000 units ($50000) per member.

You need to make a spend to:

Liberty Reserve account U1294492 - https://sci.libertyr...lr_acc=U1294492

The 150% payout will be made back to your LR account in 7 days, on 28. March 2011. 00:00 (GMT).

The payout is GUARANTEED and there is no risk from losing your funds.

This is a TIME LIMITED ONE-TIME OFFER and you must ACT NOW!

Thank you,
Liberty Reserve Team

take a look at the "from"... please be warned..


Cheers,

...
[url=http://goo.gl/1d70a][img]http://www.iccycle.com/images/468x60_2.gif[/img][/url]
[size=2][url=http://goo.gl/7014f]Elite Businessmen Private Investment Club[/url][/size] | [size=2][url=http://goo.gl/5Xtle]Invest in Resources Backed by rentals of construction materials[/url][/size] | [size=2][url=http://goo.gl/Hq3cc]Dynamic Partnership with great returns[/url][/size]